

Charlie Angus

Member of Parliament, Timmins - James Bay Député, Timmins - Baie James



House of Commons Chambre des communes CANADA

May 14, 2013

The Honourable David Tkachuk, Senator Chair, Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration The Senate of Canada Ottawa, ON K1A 0A4

The Honourable George Furey, Senator Deputy Chair, Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration The Senate of Canada Ottawa, ON K1A 0A4

Dear Senators,

I read with interest a May 14, 2013 from Postmedia which states that your committee is in the process of obtaining a legal opinion on residency requirements for Senators. I think this is an excellent move, given the many serious questions being recently raised by Canadians about whether certain Senators have met their Constitutional requirements for holding office.

I note with interest comments from the Honourable Senator Marjory LeBreton on May 11th, where she stated that she had a legal opinion saying that simply by filing out a declaration, a Senator is automatically considered qualified. I have written to her separately asking for her to disclose the legal opinion she referenced when making those comments.

I contrast the view of Senator Lebreton with that of former Senator Lowell Murray, who stated on February 9th 2013:

If Mike Duffy or anybody else being a senator from Prince Edward Island or Nova Scotia or Quebec files an income tax return stating that they're resident of Ontario, then they're finished.

... / 2

Hill Office / Bureau de la colline

Room / Chambre 900, La Promenade House of Commons / Chambre des communes Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6 Tel.:/Tél. : 613-992-2919 Fax:/Téléc. : 613-995-0747

Constituency Offices / Bureaux de circonscription

Timmins 60 Wilson Ave., Suite 202 Timmins, Ontario P4N 2S7 Tel.:/Tél. : 705-268-6464 Fax:/Téléc. : 705-266-9125 Kirkland Lake 30 Second St., Suite 201 Kirkland Lake, Ontario P2N 3H7 Tel.:/Tél. : 705-567-2747 Fax:/Téléc. : 705-567-5232 Certainly with these different views, I think it is incumbent upon you and the Members of the Senate Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration to share with the public any legal opinion you obtain.

Sincerely,

Engus

Charlie Angus, MP Timmins-James Bay

Cc: Members of the Committee, the Honourable Senators: Larry Campbell Claude Carignan Marie-Paule Charette-Poulin Jane Cordy Percy Downe Norman E. Doyle Janis G Johnson Noel A. Kinsella Elizabeth Marshall Jim Munson Larry Smith Carolyn Stewart Olsen David Wells

Ex-officio Members: Marjory LeBreton James S. Cowan